Defence Democracy Embassy Global News

Designating Individuals Involved in the Poisoning of Aleksey Navalny

Today, the United States is designating four Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) operatives, Alexey Alexandrovich Alexandrov, Konstantin Kudryavtsev, Ivan Vladimirovich Osipov, and Vladimir Alexandrovich Panyaev, pursuant to the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012 for their involvement in the poisoning of Russian opposition leader Aleksey Navalny three years ago this August.  We are also imposing visa restrictions on Alexandrov, Kudryavtsev, Osipov, and Panyaev for their involvement in a gross violation of human rights, pursuant to Section 7031(c) of the Department of State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations Act, 2023.

Today’s actions are a reminder that there are consequences for violating internationally recognized human rights. The United States will continue to use the authorities at our disposal to promote accountability for such egregious acts.

We condemn the latest injustice against Navalny and renew our call for his immediate release.

The Department of the Treasury designated Alexandrov, Kudryavtsev, Osipov, and Panyaev, pursuant to the Russia Magnitsky Act for having acted as agents of or on behalf of a person in a matter relating to extrajudicial killings, torture, or other gross violations of internationally recognized human rights committed against individuals seeking to expose illegal activity carried out by officials of the Government of the Russian Federation.  Alexandrov, Kudryavtsev, Osipov, and Panyaev were previously designated pursuant to Executive Order 13382, which targets weapons of mass destruction proliferators and their supporters, for acting for or on behalf of, directly or indirectly, the FSB.  For more information on today’s designations, please see Treasury’s press release.

Source :